Mozart: The Horn Concertos, K. 417, 495, 447, 412 + 514 (386b)

SKU: TP00324

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Format: Study Score
  • Instrumentation: Horn, Orchestra
  • ISMN: 9790006205271
  • Size: 6.5 x 8.9 inches
  • Pages: 116
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


All four Mozart horn concertos are closely associated with the horn player Joseph Leutgeb, for whom they were written during the composer's period in Vienna (between 1783 and 1791). They display his compositional approach to the possibilities and limitations of the instrument at that time and were also influenced by Leutgeb's skills as a performer; he was evidently a virtuoso of the hand-stopping technique on the horn.

This Bärenreiter Urtext study score contains the authoritative musical text of the New Mozart Edition together with Franz Giegling's informative foreword(Ger/Eng) on the history of composition of the works, on their transmission and on the former edition of the works which has been revised for the new edition,based on current scholarly findings.

For the first time the study score also includes the Concerto in D Major, K. 412 + 514 (386b) which is traditionally performed in the version completed by Franz Xaver Süßmayr as well as Mozart's incomplete Rondo movement with the famous derisive allusions to the horn player Joseph Leutgeb.


  • Horn Concerto No. 2 in E-flat Major, K. 417
  • Horn Concerto No. 4 in E-flat Major, K. 495
  • Horn Concerto No. 3 in E-flat Major, K. 447
  • Horn Concerto No. 1 in D Major, K. 412 / 514 (386b)

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.