Janáček: The Makropulos Affair

SKU: BA9579-01

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Editors: Tomáš Hanus, Jonáš Hájek, Annette Thein
  • Format: Full Score – Hardcover
  • Instrumentation: Opera
  • Work: Věc Makropulos (The Makropulos Affair), JW I/10
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Work Languages: Czech, English, German
  • ISMN: 9790260108622
  • Size: 11.0 x 13.5 inches
  • Pages: 552
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


This edition of Janáček's penultimate opera "The Makropulos Affair" is a reconstruction of the work's original version, which shows only a few deviations from the final version. The opera was premiered on 18 December 1926 at the National Theatre Brno with the composer in attendance. The second authorized copy of the score, prepared by Jaroslav Kulhánek, was used for the performance material. This copy also served as the primary source for the critical edition of the full score.

This edition features clearly marked performance instructions by one of the editors, the experienced Janáček conductor Tomáš Hanus. As they have been graphically offset, they can easily be distinguished from the original version. These practical suggestions facilitate the production of the opera and allow the conductor to study the work more easily. in this way, the performance material offers a welcome alternative to previous editions of the opera.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.