Janáček: Mládí (arr. for string quartet)

SKU: BA11543

Expected to ship in about a week. Expected to ship in about a week.
Guía de tallas

  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Instrumentation (this edition): String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Originally for: Clarinet, Flute, Oboe, Bassoon, Horn, Bass Clarinet
  • Work: Mládí (Youth), JW VII/10
  • ISMN: 9790260108509
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 40


This piece reflects Janáček's memories of childhood and youth in his native Hukvaldy and the Augustinian Abbey in Brno. Kryštof Maratka, a Czech composer resident in France and a great admirer of Janáček, has arranged the original version to produce a welcome addition to the string quartet repertoire.

Youth for wind sextet, is a masterpiece from Janáček's late period (1924). Maratka has successfully managed to transform the concise winds' sound that give this work its unique flavour into the timbre of the strings, thereby creating a "third string quartet" of the composer.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.