Haydn-Salomon: Symphony Quintetto based on "Surprise" Symphony, Hob.I:94

SKU: BA4632

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Format: Score & Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Cello, Piano, Flute, Viola, Violin I, Violin II
  • Originally for: Orchestra
  • Work: Symphony No. 94 in G Major ("The Surprise"), Hob. I:94
  • ISMN: 9790006501908
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
  • Pages: 74


With the composer's authorization, Salomon produced what contemporaries called "extraordinarily proficient" five-voice arrangements of Haydn's twelve "London" symphonies. The arrangements proved enormously popular, as shown by the many reprints in England and abroad. Hogwood's new edition of the "Surprise Symphony" is, however, not based on these often faulty prints but on Salomon's recently rediscovered original manuscript. A symphony in chamber music guise, and a welcome addition to today's chamber music repertoire.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.