Schubert: Piano Sonatas - Volume 1

SKU: BA9642

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Editor: Walburga Litschauer
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790006575350
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 182
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Schubert was visibly adventurous in his early piano sonatas, as is apparent in their wide-ranging key schemes, diverging versions of many movements or entire sonatas, and numerous works left incomplete. This revised Urtext edition contains the sonatas he composed between 1815 and 1817. An updated preface and valuable notes on central questions of performance practice (e.g. articulation, pedalling and embellishments), with a special emphasis on his idiosyncratic treatment of accent-like diminuendo hairpins, form a useful introduction to the sonatas. Schubert's drafts and fragments can be accessed on the Bärenreiter website.


  • Piano Sonata in E Major, D 157
  • Piano Sonata in C Major, D 279/346
  • Piano Sonata in E Major (5 Piano Pieces (with D 459A)), D 459
  • Piano Sonata in A Minor, D 537, Op. posth. 164
  • Piano Sonata in A-flat Major, D 557
  • Piano Sonata in E Minor, D 566/506
  • Piano Sonata in E-flat Major, D 568, Op. posth. 122
  • Piano Sonata in B Major, D 575, Op. posth. 147

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.