Handel: L'Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, HWV 55

SKU: BA4023-90

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel
  • Piano reduction: Andreas Köhs
  • Format: Vocal Score
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Voice
  • Originally for: Opera
  • Work: L'Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, HWV 55
  • Work Languages: English, German
  • ISMN: 9790006443192
  • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
  • Pages: 190
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Handel's oratorio L'Allegro , il Penseroso ed il Moderato is based on two poems of 1623 by John Milton. Their main focus draws on merriment, as expressed in the joys of dawn, the hunt, a pastoral idyll and thriving towns, and on melancholy, as felt in the coolness of the nocturnal forest, the song of the nightingale, and the observation of the stars. The librettist, Charles Jennens , contrasts these two antipodes with a third vehicle for the emotions: " il Moderato", who sees happiness in the moderation of these two extremes. Unlike his two preceding oratorios "Saul" and " Israel in Egypt ", which centered on the dramatic and the epic, here Handel has written a lyric work that gives broad latitude to the musical depiction of nature. The piano reduction, by Andreas Köhs, follows the Urtext of the Halle Handel Edition. - Straightforward and easy-to-play piano reduction.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.