Janáček: String Quartet No. 2

SKU: BA9533

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
Format Descriptions

  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Editors: Leoš Faltus, Milos Stedron
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 2 ("Intimate Letters"), JW VII/13
  • ISMN: 9790260104846
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Janácek's second string quartet, "Intimate Letters", is regarded as a highlight of the modern string quartet literature. It was written during the composers last year of life, between January 29th and February 19th, 1928, inspired by the ageing Janácek's exceptional love for Kamila Stösslová. The Moravian Quartet devoted themselves to this impressive work; Janácek attended a total of three of their rehearsals in May and June 1928. This had several consequences, including his abandoning his original idea of using a viola damore.

After Janácek's unexpected death on August 12, 1928 the uncertain genesis of the work became the greatest problem of the Intimate Letters: the surviving copies were not definitively authorized.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.